loading upcoming events
loading weather conditions and alerts
Employment Opportunities
loading current opportunities

Mission/Vision Statements

Blair County Head Start exists to build partnerships with families and our community to provide comprehensive services that are the building blocks of lifelong learning.

The services we provide families are Supported by education, nutrition, health, social services, and parent involvement.

We serve as advocates for families, meet the Individual needs of all children, and support Family development.

Confidentiality

We value your family's privacy and make every effort to ensure that information that you share is kept strictly confidential, therefore, we cannot discuss or share any information regarding your child or your family with another Head Start parent or another agency/organization without your written permission.

Head Start has a written confidentiality policy available for you to review in each center.  If you have any questions, please ask your teacher, Case Manager or any Program Manager.

 

Decision Making

Governing Bodies of Blair County Head Start:


Our program is required to have two governing bodies; the Child Advocates of Blair County Board of Directors and Policy Council.

  • The Board of Directors is responsible to handle the money and any legal matters of the Head Start program.  The Board meets bi-monthly.
  • The Head Start Policy Council helps with the responsibility for the day-to-day operations and direction of the program.  The majority of Policy Council members must be currently enrolled parents.  Representatives are elected by parent committees in the fall.  The rest of Policy Council comes from the community.  Policy Council meets monthly to discuss and approve Head Start business including hiring of all Head Start staff.

As a parent representative, you will be involved in decision making for your child’s classroom, program activities and the future direction of the program. For more information contact your Case Manager or Policy Council/Transportation Manager.

Center Locations

Greenwood Center*
319 Sycamore Street
Altoona, PA 16602
814-946-5247
1-866-946-2247 (Toll Free)
(F) 814-946-8147

Juniata Center
814-946-1020

Fairview Center
814-940-1480

Stevens Center
814-940-6934/6935

Wright Center
814-946-8407 ext. 207

Penn Lincoln Center
814-946-8396 ext. 3131

Washington Jefferson
814-946-8403 ext. 5214

Claysburg Center
814-239-8820

Martinsburg Center
814-793-2259

Roaring Spring
814-224-3088

Williamsburg Center
814-832-2053

Hollidaysburg Center
814-695-4961, ext. 5121 / ext. 5122

Foot of Ten Center
814-696-8599

Tyrone Center
814-684-5559/5710

 

*Houses Main Administrative Office

 

Contact Us

Name

Title

Phone Ext.

E-mail

Program Design & Management

Ruthann Akers

Program Director

104

rakers@cabc-bchs.org

Daryl Sarver

Chief Fiscal Officer

111

dsarver@cabc-bchs.org

Erica Peterson

Planning and DevelopmentCoordinator

147

epeterson@cabc-bchs.org

 

Facilities and Safe Environments

109

 

Education

Jessica Hatch

Education Manager

135

jhatch@cabc-bchs.org

Brenda Garlick

Education Supervisor

108

bgarlick@cabc-bchs.org

William Conway

Education Supervisor

300

wconway@cabc-bchs.org

Lindsey Conlon

Education Supervisor

122

lconlon@cabc-bchs.org

Transportation

Laurie Smiley

Transportation / Policy Council Manager

115

lsmiley@cabc-bchs.org

Carol Shaffer

Transportation Specialist

178

cshaffer@cabc-bchs.org

Family & Community Partnerships

Carol Leonard

Family & Community Partnerships Manager

123

cleonard@cabc-bchs.org

Kelley Schaffer

Family Engagement Coordinator

103

kschaffer@cabc-bchs.org

Shirley Clevenstine

ERSEA Coordinator (Enrollment)

129

sclevenstine@cabc-bchs.org

Koelle Williams

Case Manager Supervisor

210

kwilliams@cabc-bchs.org

Health & Disabilities

Amanda Lykens

Mental Health/Disabilities Coordinator

116

alykens@cabc-bchs.org

Janelle Jones-Free

Nutrition Services Coordinator

109

jjones@cabc-bchs.org

Nicole Soyster

Head Start Nurse

119

nsoyster@cabc-bchs.org

Jami Sederes

Behavior Support Specialist

150

jsederes@cabc-bchs.org

Management Support

Ann Shields

Family Services Assistant

127

ashields@cabc-bchs.org

Anna Klaiber

Children Services Assistant

105

aklaiber@cabc-bchs.org

Christa Wendle

Receptionist

100

cwendle@cabc-bchs.org